Member News

Recent Professional Highlights

ASJA Members: To add your professional highlights to this page, go to Submit Member News.

Andrea Warren

Andrea Warren was recently featured in Publisher's Weekly discussing her newest nonfiction book for young readers, Enemy Child: The Story of Norman Mineta, a Boy Imprisoned in a Japanese American Internment Camp During World War II (Holiday House), published April 30. Her book follows Mineta on his journey from shame and incarceration to a career as a distinguished American statesman. The book is a Junior Literary Guild selection and received starred reviews from The Horn Book and School Library Journal. Associated website

Nancy Grant

Nancy Grant launched her newest book, Binge Birding: Twenty Days with Binoculars, during The Biggest Week in American Birding festival on the shores of Lake Erie in early May. The book takes readers along on a nearly 4,000 mile solo road trip from the Ohio River Valley to the Texas Gulf Coast to look for birds during spring migration. Combining quirky travel anecdotes with in-depth natural history insights, the book’s lyrical descriptions of more than 150 species of birds in varied habitats offer readers fresh insights and ideas for birdwatching fun anywhere, anytime. Available online at Amazon. Associated website

Tim Trudell

My second book is officially released. Unique Eats and Eateries of Omaha looks at the story behind the restaurant. 91 eateries were included in the book, which was co-authored with my wife, Lisa. I wrote the book, and she markets it and handles social media so she is included in the author line. This is our second book, 100 Things to Do in Omaha Before You Die was released in April 2018. I am currently working on our third book, 100 Things to Do in Nebraska Before You Die, due out in Spring 2020. Associated website

Hilary Davidson

Hilary Davidson's fifth crime novel, ONE SMALL SACRIFICE, will be published by Thomas & Mercer in June. The book just received a starred review from Library Journal, which said, "Fans of Karin Slaughter, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner will devour this new police procedural, which boasts a strong female detective and an intriguing antagonist. Sheryn [Sterling] will draw in readers, and Davidson’s complex storytelling will keep them wanting more." ONE SMALL SACRIFICE has been selected by Amazon for its First Reads program for May. (First Reads allows Amazon Prime members to download an advance copy of a book for free, and non-Prime members to buy a Kindle edition for $1.99 or a hardcover for $9.99.) The book tour for ONE SMALL SACRIFICE includes stops in New York, Denver, Phoenix/Scottsdale/ Houston, St. Louis, and Toronto. Associated website

Robert Bruce Woodcox

Robert has just finished his 43rd book as a ghostwriter entitled: Lessons Learned Raising a Child with Autism and is currently working on a new ghostwriting assignment to write a memoir entitled: Encounter with the Creator. Associated website

Paul R Vachon

My new book, Detroit: An Illustrated Timeline, was released by Reedy Press on May 1, 2019. The book traces Detroit history over the course of three centuries through a series of vignettes, each describing a seminal event from the city's past. Vintage and modern images accompany the text, bringing to life the history of the city of the straits. Associated website

Michael Bobelian

Michael Bobelian's new book, The Battle for the Marble Palace: Abe Fortas, Earl Warren, Lyndon Johnson, Richard Nixon and the Forging of the Modern Supreme Court, will be released on May 29. The book is a narrative account of the politicization of the Court during the 1950s and ’60s and the revolution it sparked in the confirmation process. Built upon years of research and written in a compelling narrative—what the Dean of UC Davis Law School described as “an absolute ‘must read’ for Supreme Court watchers as well as political junkies, history buffs, and mystery book readers”—Battle for the Marble Palace uncovers the true origins of the messy confirmation fights the nation has endured in recent years. Associated website

Penttinen Penttinen

5G Explained presents introduction to recent advancements and growing trends in mobile telecommunications. The focus of this new book is on the development and employment of 5G mobile networks. 5G Explained offers crucial updates for anyone involved in designing, deploying or working with 5G networks. It should prove a valuable guide for operators, equipment manufacturers and other professionals in mobile equipment engineering and security, network planning and optimization, and mobile application development, or anyone looking to break into these fields. Associated website

David Krueger MD

May 1 release: YOUR NEW MONEY STORY: The Beliefs, Behaviors, and Brain Science to Rewire for Wealth by David Krueger MD (Rowman & Littlefield, NewYork/London) Associated website

Ibrahim Masoodi

Author of Bumpy Roads Specialized in Gastrointestinal , pancreatic and Liver disorders Blogs Gastroenterology Desk clinical activities for medical students and doctors Associated website

Koraly Dimitriadis

After publishing her second-novel-in-verse "Just Give Me The Pills", her first being "Love and F--k Poems" which was also translated to Greek, Koraly Dimitriadis has been awarded a grant from the Cypriot Ministry of Education to attended the ASJA conference in New York and to also tour her poetry around America. After this trip, she will head to Europe after she was awarded a residency at the UNESCO City of Literature in Krakow. There she will continue to work on her debut fiction novel "Divided Island", a love story set in Melbourne and Cyprus.

Melanie Padgett Powers

Melanie Padgett Powers, a freelance writer and editor in the Washington, D.C., area, launched the Deliberate Freelancer podcast in March. The new podcast, available every Thursday morning, is aimed at helping freelancers build a successful freelance business. Powers leans on her own extensive experience and of having built a successful freelance business, MelEdits, over the past five years. Deliberate Freelancer is for freelancers in all industries and at all levels. The central theme of the podcast is to embrace the mindset that freelancers are not “just” a freelancer, but that they own a freelance business and need to think of and treat their work like a business. Deliberate Freelancer is not about the hustle. It’s not about living in that feast-or-famine cycle. It’s about building a freelance business. Deliberately. “I never imagined myself as a business owner, but when I went out on my own in 2013, I immediately loved the business side of freelancing,” Powers says. “I have become so passionate about empowering other freelancers and offering advice when I can, and this podcast is the next step.” Listeners can subscribe to the Deliberate Freelancer podcast for free in their favorite podcast app so they don’t miss an episode or they can listen online at deliberatefreelancer.com. They can provide feedback, ideas for the show or guest suggestions to Powers on Twitter @MelEdits or by email at melanie@meledits.com. Associated website

Mary Ann Sternberg

New nonfiction book. River Road Rambler Returns: (LSU Press). - A collection of stories about unique and underappreciated places along Louisiana's historic byway. Joins the previous story collection, River Road Rambler (LSU Press) Associated website

Donna Kaz

Donna Kaz has a new eBook out -- "PUSH/PUSHBACK 9 Steps to Make a Difference with Activism and Art (because the world's gone bananas)" is an insiders look at what went behind the posters, protests, fax blitzes, speak outs and street theatre actions the Guerrilla Girls used to attack and expose sexism and racism in the theatre world and beyond. It includes a step by step guide to the art of collaboration, how to gather stats, generate ideas, fund projects, ensure response and guarantee momentum. It also sheds light on the use of storytelling to weave together the fabric of a movement designed to effect change. The book is currently for sale at guerrillagirlsontour.com http://guerrillagirlsontour.com/guerrilla-girls-activism-art-ebook/ Associated website

Tish Davidson

The Vaccine Debate (ABC-CLIO, 2019) by medical writer Tish Davidson provides basic non-technical information on how vaccines work with the immune system. It discusses how people form opinions about vaccination and then examines seven vaccine controversies by introducing the history of the controversy and presenting both the anti-vaccination and medical establishment views in an objective way. Associated website

  • A blank piece of paper is God's way of telling us how hard it is to be God.
    – Sidney Sheldon
  • A critic is a man who knows the way but can't drive the car.
    – Kenneth Tynan
  • A good many young writers make the mistake of enclosing a stamped, self–addressed envelope, big enough for the manuscript to come back in. This is too much of a temptation to the editor.
    – Ring Lardner
  • A young musician plays scales in his room and only bores his family. A beginning writer, on the other hand, sometimes has the misfortune of getting into print.
    – Marguerite Yourcenar
  • All the words I use in my stories can be found in the dictionary – it's just a matter of arranging them into the right sentences.
    – Somerset Maugham
  • Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics is like asking a lamppost how it feels about dogs.
    – Christopher Hampton
  • Being a writer is like having homework every night for the rest of your life.
    – Lawrence Kasdan
  • Copy from one, it's plagiarism; copy from two, it's research.
    –Wilson Mizner
  • Everywhere I go I'm asked if I think the university stifles writers. My opinion is that they don't stifle enough of them.
    – Flannery O'Connor
  • I just wrote a book, but don't go out and buy it yet, because I don't think it's finished yet.
    – Lawrence Welk
  • I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.
    – Douglas Adams
  • I'm writing a book. I've got the page numbers done.
    – Stephen Wright
  • It took me fifteen years to discover I had no talent for writing, but I couldn't give it up because by that time I was too famous.
    – Robert Benchley
  • It's a damn poor mind that can only think of one way to spell a word.
    – Andrew Jackson
  • Most writers can write books faster than publishers can write checks.
    – Richard Curtis
  • No fathers or mothers think their own children ugly; and this self–deceit is yet stronger with respect to the offspring of the mind.
    – Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra
  • There are three rules for writing the novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.
    –Somerset Maugham
  • Writing a novel is like paddling from Boston to London in a bathtub. Sometimes the damn tub sinks. It's a wonder that most of them don't.
    – Stephen King
  • Writing a novel is like spelunking. You kind of create the right path for yourself. But, boy, are there so many points at which you think, absolutely, I'm going down the wrong hole here.
    – Chang–rae Lee
  • Your manuscript is both good and original, but the part that is good is not original, and the part that is original is not good.
    –Samuel Johnson